Skip navigation

Listening randomly to some music (as I so often do) I was hit suddenly with a wave of memory so powerful that, well I just had to write it down.  It’s truly amazing to me the power that music has to induce such things, and so vivid too is this memory that even now as I type with the inspirational music playing in the background, I can see, hear, even feel what it was like in this time so long ago…

Summer 1997.  I had successfully completed the 7th grade, and nearly at the very top of my class too (2nd, in fact, the same position I would eventually graduate in).  I am awaiting my 13th birthday, which will come just after the new school year, and enjoying summer vacation.  This particular summer was the year of “the puzzle.”  A giant 3-D puzzle of New York City’s Manhattan Island.  Thousands of pieces, countless hours spent working on this masterpiece, which I am not ashamed to say may be covered with years of dust now but still stands in my parents house.  This was also the year I really began to come into my own as far as musical preferences go.  I had 2 CDs on constant rotation in my player.  Matchbox 20’s Yourself or Someone Like You and The Wallflowers’ Bringing Down the Horse.  Even now, nearly 12 years later, any time I hear a song off of either of those albums, I am instantly transported back to that place.  The construction is taking place in the dining room of my parents house.  A table all my own is covered with a giant piece of cardboard which serves as the base.  There are 2 huge plastic bags filled with Styrofoam pieces that have not yet found a home.  I can see and feel the summer sun through the open door.  And as I sit at that table those endless summer days, going through piece by piece to perfect the largest project that I had ever worked on, I can hear the music of those 2 albums.  I know all the words, I sing along in my head as I work.  My Walkman eats through batteries like I do cookies, so the battery charger is constantly working just as diligently as I am.  Of course a good amount of my summer was spent doing as kids do, going outside, playing with friends, but the bulk of that time was definitely that puzzle.

The old table is still there, relegated now to a corner where it mostly serves as a catch-all for random junk mail and other such useless items.  Covered now with years of dust, the puzzle, in its full completion, still stands on that old cardboard base in the back room of the house.  The CDs are worn out from overplaying.  The Walkman long since replaced by mp3s.  But the memories of that time are still here, and still just as powerful as if they had happened only yesterday, whenever I choose to just listen to the songs.

4 Comments

  1. A search engine led me to this post of yours and I never leave any kind of comments but this time I felt I had too. I felt like you were speaking about my history with these two cds. Especially, Bringing Down the Horse. Hands down, my favorite cd of all time. Nice collaboration of words and lyrics, a true way to let your soul speak. Good job.

  2. Hi, just wanted to tell you, I liked this article.
    It was practical. Keep on posting!

  3. Hi there it’s me, I am also visiting this web site regularly, this site is in fact nice and the visitors are actually sharing fastidious thoughts.

  4. Hi there, this weekend is nice in favor of me, as this time i
    am reading this impressive informative article here at my house.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

