Skip navigation

“The only true wisdom is in knowing you know nothing.” -Socrates

I’ve always rather enjoyed that quote, and lately have been really feeling the truth of it.  Been doing a bit of self-reflecting and coming to gain some of this ‘wisdom’ and question whether I, or anyone for that matter, really do know anything.  An unlikely source, but an interesting line (from “Weird Al”), Everything you know is wrong. Black is white, up is down, and short is long. And everything you thought was just so important doesn’t matter.  I’m beginning to think there really may be some truth to that. And perhaps beginning to forget the words and sing along as well.

I’m sure I’m not the only one guilty of this, but I definitely have been ‘guilty’ of making the rather foolish assumption that I actually ‘know’ things.  I’m not talking about knowledge in the sense of something you’d learn from a textbook, or even necessarily street knowledge.  I’m talking about believing that I know, well, me.  Thoughts, feelings, ideas, things that I believe to be true and couldn’t possibly be any different, things I accepted as just the way of the world so to speak.  Maybe it’s just my nature, but I’ve had for a while a few different ideas that I believed with the very core of my being to be true.  And not just to be true but to always be true, to be unchangeable.  And the one day something happens, an event occurs like an explosion that destroys that entire foundation of truth.  You begin to wonder about these things you always assumed to be true.  Are they still?  Were they ever?  I had an explosion of this sort a few months ago, a revelation if you will, about the previous band I was in.  And there’s been others.  Things that at one time I couldn’t possibly imagine being any different, and now begin to realize that maybe that can.  No, not that things can be different, but that they will.  Change is, in fact, inevitable.  Sometimes it’s good, sometimes maybe not, it’s always hard to tell.  But, in case I’m starting to get off topic here, the main point is that I am realizing that we are momentary creatures.  Trying to really predict the future, and how things will be, is pointless.  And thinking that everything you know, no matter how sure you are, could not possibly be different, well perhaps that’s just a little blind.

I feel like my eyes are finally open, that I’m really seeing (perhaps for the first time) the world around me, and embracing it for what it is, the world around me at this moment.  I don’t really know where I’ll be in the future, and frankly that’s not nearly as important as enjoying where I am right now.  And now, hoping I haven’t confused everyone out of their minds I’ll leave you with a few lines from one of my absolute favorite songs, and a man I consider one of the greatest lyricists of our time.

Over thinking, over analyzing separates the body from the mind
Withering my intuition leaving all these opportunities behind
Feed my will to feel this moment urging me to cross the line
Reaching out to embrace the random
Reaching out to embrace whatever may come

I embrace my desire
To feel the rhythm
To feel connected
Enough to step aside and
Weep like a widow
To feel inspired
To fathom the power
To witness the beauty
To bathe in the fountain
To swing on the spiral
Of our divinity
And still be a human

With my feet upon the ground
I lose myself between the sounds
And open wide to suck it in
I feel it move across my skin
I’m reaching up and reaching out
I’m reaching for the random or
Whatever will bewilder me
Whatever will bewilder me
And following our will and wind
We may just go where no one’s been
We’ll ride the spiral to the end
And may just go where no one’s been

Leave a Reply

