Skip navigation

I was introduced recently to the latest album from the band 10 Years, titled Division. While the album itself is definitely worth checking out, one of the better rock albums of the year, my focus today is more on one song in particular. As a friend of mine described, a song that’s a good ‘kick in the ass’ and definitely very personal to me. I’ve been on the other end of this so much of my life, all those times I’d hesitate to act or take a chance out of fear. Fear of what? Nothing, well nothing real anyway just maybe a loss of pride or something stupid like that. While I’m not certainly one to dwell on the past, it’s definitely a bit disconcerting to think of how many opportunities I let fly by in my life, simply because I was too afraid to take a chance. I’ve been learning to do better I think, though it’s still somewhat a slow process. I have definitely found though, that the possible benefits can so much outweigh the supposed ‘risk,’ it’s really quite a wonder that it’s still sometimes an issue. At times I still let fear control me too much, to the point where I’ll even look for excuses and reasons not to try something, which is just such bullshit when you really think about it. So my New Year’s Resolution? (To begin working on immediately) Not to let stupid fears and bullshit control my life, but to take chances and opportunities that I’m given. Speech over, now for the song that inspired it all…

I can’t seem to change you, or open up your eyes
So go on and sing your sad sad song
I don’t even blame you, the routine is nice
Nine to five in a suit and tie
Fear of failure, a comfort zone is killed

Brace yourself, and give in to the moment
You’ve got nothing to lose, so what is your excuse?
Save yourself, you’re dying in slow motion
You’ve got nothing to lose, so what’s your excuse?

Life can’t seem to teach you, the safe caught is right
So stray from the fight don’t you realize?
The daydreamer’s nightmare, is to never even try
Your time has slipped by
Fear of failure, a comfort zone is killed

Brace yourself, and give in to the moment
You’ve got nothing to lose, so what is your excuse?
Save yourself, you’re dying in slow motion
You’ve got nothing to lose, so what’s your excuse?

Take a step back and find a way out of here
Can’t you see that the answer is loud and clear?

Brace yourself, and give in to the moment
You’ve got nothing to lose, so what is your excuse?
Save yourself, you’re dying in slow motion
You’ve got nothing to lose, so what’s your excuse?

Find a way out of here

Leave a Reply

