Skip navigation

Partly inspired by Guitar Hero, I’ve been listening a bit to the band Rise Against.  I must say if you don’t know this band, look them up, give them a listen, you will not be disappointed.  The band itself is known for their very strong beliefs and socially aware lyrics (the members are all strict vegetarians, PETA supporters, etc.), and so it’s actually fairly difficult, lyrically, to pick out a truly standout track.  This song, however, does stand out to me, because of the story that it tells.  It’s a very sad story, but also kind of heartwarming too.  Listening to this song I picture a man who finds a “beautiful flower” that he picks and falls in love with.  Sadly though he begins to realize that holding that flower in his hand is killing it, so he puts it back in the ground and walks away.  It’s because of his love that he does this, even though it causes him so much pain.  It’s really a very powerful song in my opinion.  And so here is “The Good Left Undone.”

In fields where nothing grew but weeds
I found a flower at my feet
Bending there in my direction
I wrapped a hand around its stem
I pulled until the roots gave in
Finding there what I’d been missing
But I know…

So I tell myself, I tell myself it’s wrong
There’s a point we pass from which we can’t return
I felt the cold rain of the coming storm

All because of you, I haven’t slept in so long
When I do I dream, of drowning in the ocean
Longing for the shore, where I can lay my head down
I’ll follow your voice, all you have to do is shout it out

Inside my hands these petals browned
Dried up, fallen to the ground
But it was already too late now
I pushed my fingers through the earth
Returned this flower to the dirt
So it could live, I walked away now
But I know…

Not a day goes by that I don’t feel this burn
There’s a point we pass from which we can’t return
I felt the cold rain of the coming storm

All because of you, I haven’t slept in so long
When I do I dream, of drowning in the ocean
Longing for the shore, where I can lay my head down
I’ll follow your voice, all you have to do is shout it out

All because of you…
All because of you…

All because of you, I haven’t slept in so long
When I do I dream, of drowning in the ocean
Longing for the shore, where I can lay my head down
Inside these arms of yours

All because of you, I believe in angels
Not the kind with wings, no not the kind with halos
The kind that bring you home, when home becomes a strange place
I’ll follow your voice, all you have to do is shout it out

One Comment

  1. Hey I love how you described this song!


Leave a Reply

