Skip navigation

I realize how terribly assuming it must seem of me to write anything about a topic that I could not possibly understand, but I hope it’s realized that that is not my intention at all.  I’ve seen so many go through such horrible tragedies that I couldn’t even begin to fathom, and this is simply my expression of that.  My freshman year of college I was with my then girlfriend when her grandfather, whom she lived next door to and was very close with, died.  A year later, a different girlfriend, and it was her father.  I’ve seen as a very good friend of mine mourns every year the still-too-recent death of her mother.  And today I was tuned in to yet another friend’s sorrow, as today is the anniversary of her father’s death (not to mention the recent anniversary of her brother’s as well).  I’ve never felt what these four women have, and I won’t pretend to know what it must be like.  All I will say is to realize that you are never alone, and there are those who will listen and who will be there when you need, even if you’re too proud or too strong to admit it.

They always say that music gives comfort, so even though I don’t know, can’t know, perhaps here’s someone who does…

FYI:  According to a site I found (which seems reputable) Scooter Ward wrote this song for his girlfriend who in her previous marriage had had a baby that died in the crib two weeks after being born.

…Falling…

I can’t breathe at all, and it hurts to think that time could heal my wounds
Feeling I’ve been betrayed, Black Sunday still burns you in my thoughts
I can’t sleep at all, now you’re gone away, I can’t fake this anymore
Guess I could blame it all on God’s game, or explain what my life’s for

Caught in a winter’s rain
And I can’t remember the words you said
Take away my fear please hold on to me
I’m falling, falling

I would trade it all for another day, just to feel you and your warmth
But even pictures fade, Black Sunday still burns you in my thoughts
I can’t see at all, did you fly away? Did the stars shine bright for you?
Guess I could blame it all on God’s game, it was fate that carried you

Caught in a winter’s rain
And I can’t remember the words you said
Take away my fear please hold on to me
I’m falling, falling

You always take away, take away, take away, take away

Caught in a winter’s rain
And I can’t remember the words you said
Take away my fear please hold on to me
I’m falling

Caught in a winter’s rain
And I can’t remember the words you said
Take away my fear please hold on to me
I’m falling

I’m falling…

3 Comments

  1. This is a lovely sentiment.

  2. thank you Z.

    • Thanks. I went through the horrible loss of a fianc'e in 1996. Scooter's lyrics let me know i had someone to bleed with. God bless. By numb in blacksburg s.c. 6-11-10
    • Posted June 11, 2010 at 4:33 pm
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    Cell phone


Leave a Reply

