Skip navigation

catharsis : the purging of emotions or relieving of emotional tensions, especially through certain kinds of art, such as music.

I’m not “giving up.”

I just wanted to make sure that was clear.  I’m still right here, right where I’ve always been, but I feel I’ve done all I can.  I’ve put in so much time and energy, and faith, and so much of myself, and I feel that if I continue to do so, without anyone there, eventually there’ll be nothing left.  I can’t allow that to happen.  I won’t.  I keep thinking that this will pass, but without any hint that this course will correct itself, I can’t stay on it.  Again, I’m not going anywhere.  But I can’t keep looking for someone who obviously doesn’t want to be found.   I can’t spend my life waiting for something that may never come.

Consider this my catharsis.  With these words I am fresh, clean, ready to begin anew.  You know right where to find me, if you ever decide to look.

You’re looking but you cannot see
You’ve blinded your own eyes
You tell yourself this cannot be
You believe all your own lies…

I never want to hold you down
No, I’ll encourage you to fly
To find your path, your own way through
Up there in the sky
I only want to see you smile
That’s all I’ll ever ask
Won’t you sit with me for a little while
And watch the stars pass?

Just open your eyes and you will see what’s right in front of you
Just open your mind and you will know these words I say are true

And don’t worry for me here on the ground
I have my own journey too
But if two paths should become one
I’ll love to fly with you
I only want to see you smile
That’s all I’ll ever ask
Won’t you sit with me for a little while
And watch the stars pass?

Just open your eyes and you will see what’s right in front of you
Just open your mind and you will know these words I say are true
Blinded by your own fear of the little you could lose
Blinded so you cannot see how much we both would gain

Just open your eyes and you will see what’s right in front of you
Just open your heart and you will feel the love I have for you
Just open your mind and you will know that I can ease your pain
Just take my hand and we’ll jump together… into… faith…

No longer looking, you won’t see me now
Standing here right in front of you
Fear has convinced you it’s wrong somehow
To follow what your heart tells you
I only wanted you to smile
That’s all I ever asked
I’m still here if ever you’d like to sit awhile
And just watch the stars pass

Leave a Reply

