Skip navigation

Life can be very, very stressful.  And I’ve seen what can happen when that goes unchecked.  I’ve seen an outcome that let’s just say I promised myself I would never allow to happen to me.

But that doesn’t mean it isn’t hard sometimes.  There are days when it feels like everything is wrong, like the world is collapsing around me and there’s nothing I can do to stop it.  And I wonder why it has to be so hard, why I feel like nothing can ever just come easily.

Sometimes I think it would be so easy to just let it all take me over, to hate the world for every trial and test I’m put through, but I know that if I did that, I would lose.  I’d lose myself.  I see how people around me react and look at the world, and I know that I don’t want to be like them.  And I cannot, I will not, let anything in this world break me.  So when that happens, I put on some music, I force myself to breathe, to relax, to see that it’s not so bad, that whatever’s going on can be overcome, that everything will be alright, and (as cliche as it is perhaps) I count.

One…

Two…

Three…

Four…

Five.

And it’s all alright.  I’m still here, still breathing, still me.  And I know that I’ll be fine.

[For related lyrical inspiration, check here]

Leave a Reply

