Skip navigation

I think one of my favorite things about rock music is that, to me at least, it’s more “real” than any other genre.  Sure it’s a style that’s famous for lyrics about sex, drugs, booze and parties, but that’s only part of the story.  And the best of them especially, go so far beyond those topics, and embrace all aspects of life and real, human emotions.  Perhaps I’ve never looked in the right places, but I’ve rarely seen a pop, rap, or even country song that wasn’t just shallow or manufactured to mimic the true emotion that good rock music conveys.  And the range!  Whether it’s anger, frustration, love, hate, beauty, peace, whatever you’re looking for, somebody, somewhere has written a song that conveys exactly what you’re feeling.  And that kind of thing is just amazing to me.

In particular, every now and then I come across a song that I would describe as “inspirational.”  Now I’ll admit that Saliva is a band known for cheesy, commercialized lyrics, but this song I feel is just a little different.  Yes, it’s simple and catchy and goes for cheap profane-littered hooks, but there’s a message buried underneath all of that which I think is wonderful.  I need to start making a playlist of similar “positive” songs like this.

I always wanted to be President
I always wanted to be Superman
I ended up a fucking superstar

I’m better off than either one of them
I want to take you to a higher place
Say all the things that you could never say
I’ll even help you try to make a change
Before the whole world blows up in your face
In your face, yeah

Come inside for a moment
Come inside for a moment

I’m the voice inside of you
That says there’s nothing you can’t do
If you could open up your eyes
And lay your heart out on the line
I’m the voice inside your head
That brings your mind back from the dead
I hope that I have served you right
Even if only for one night

I’m not a religious or fanatical
But I’m a motherfucking miracle
You knock me down and I get up again
So hit the lights and let the show begin
Show begin, yeah

Come inside for a moment
Come inside for a moment

I’m the voice inside of you
That says there’s nothing you can’t do
If you could open up your eyes
And lay your heart out on the line
I’m the voice inside your head
That brings your mind back from the dead
I hope that I have served you right
Even if only for one night

Leave a Reply

